A Must See for Tourists when visiting Wilsons Promontory
Brief History of Township
- 1798 – George Bass made his way into Corner Inlet in his tiny whale boat.
- Gold discovered in 1870 at Stockyard Creek (by accident as men were illegally splitting blackwood palings and avoided the law by prospecting for gold).
- In July 1871, the first Mechanics Institute was built which accommodated around 200 people, costing 198 pound 16 shillings.
- 1871 – United Sunday School opened
- 1872 – first Post Office and the first “common school’ was opened by Mr. and Mrs. James Ingram with 180 children enrolled.
- 1872 – The first Bank of Victoria opened a branch . In its first three and a half years, the bank purchased 30,000 oz. gold which was 3 pound, 17 shillings and 10 pence an ounce.
- 1874 – The first Wesleyans church was built on Church Hill. Rev. W. Clarke travelled from Alberton to conduct Church of England services on a weekly basis.
- 1876 – First Library containing 376 books with 103 subscribers.
One gets the idea of how the township of Foster came to be due to the gold rush. Of course, the district is now well known for dairying, beef cattle and some sheep. The pristine beaches and Wilsons Promontory are among the highlights for visitors.
There are many walks around the township the visitors can take: check Tourist Information Centre for locations.
Foster and District photos